Baseball, Movies & Thanksgiving

So here it is, the dreary winter and the “rat race” begins. Tis the season for dreaming of baseball and the summer. Well, to keep the imagination of the mind going I give to you a list of baseball movies that may be good for a stocking stuffer or two.

The list is in no specific order:

  1. The Natural with Robert Redford.
  2. 61 produced by Billy Crystal.
  3. When It Was A Game: Triple Play Collection.
  4. Ken Burns’ Baseball produced by Ken Burns.
  5. Field of Dreams with Kevin Costner.
  6. For Love of the Game with Kevin Costner.
  7. Bang the Drum Slowly by John Hancock.
  8. A League of Their Own by Penny Marshall.
  9. Bull Durham with Kevin Costner.
  10. 100th Anniversary of the New York Yankees.

While there are many movies to list, in my mind the above are worth watching to the baseball fan.

A note on my previous column of baseball books: I would like to add a few more from some of the comments posted by readers and my own insight into the books. So, here’s an expanded view of more books to read.

  1. Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig by Jonathan Eig.
  2. It’s Outta Here: The History of the Home Run from Babe Ruth to Barry Bonds by Bill Gutman.
  3. Tales from the Mets Dugout: A Collection of the Greatest Stories Ever Told by Bruce Markusen.
  4. Idiot: Beating the Curse and Enjoying the Game of Life by Johnny Damon.
  5. The 2005 ESPN Baseball Encyclopedia by Peter Palmer.
  6. Ladies and Gentlemen, the Bronx is Burning by Jonathan Mahler.
  7. The Last Night of the Yankee Dynasty: The Game, the Team, and the Cost of Greatness by Buster Olney.
  8. The Bill James Handbook 2005 by Bill James.
  9. Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game by Michael Lewis.
  10. Voices of Summer: Ranking Baseball’s 101 All-time Best Announcers by Curt Smith.

If there are more books, please feel free to send them to me. Maybe we’ll have a third column on the best baseball reads.

— Joe Boesch


A Great Ambassador for the Game

— Joe Boesch

All Rise…A.L. Rookie of the Year

— Joe Boesch

Veteran’s Day…We Honor You

— Joe Boesch

Opted In…

— Joe Boesch

Thank You Joe…

— Joe Boesch

Let’s Get it Done…

Sent from my iPad

%d bloggers like this: