Tag Archives: Hall of Fame

HOF Snub

All along many thought the Roberto Alomar was a shoe-in to the Hall
of Fame. But, the few votes he didn’t receive were because of his past
and treatment of umpires.

Marty Noble of MLB.com punished him for it, and I believe rightly
so, after he appeared on the MLB Network and defended his decision.

The top five HOF votes:

Andre Dawson 420 votes 77.9%
Bert Byline 400 votes 74.2%
Roberto Alomar 397 votes 73.7%
Jack Morris 282 votes 52.3%
Barry Lark in 278 votes 51.6%

Until then, see ya in Cooperstown.

’09 HOF Voting

Finally Jim Rice made the Hall of Fame.
Everyone knew Rickey Henderson would be voted in, but it was in question for Rice.

Jim Rice Stats:

Home Runs 382
RBI’s 1,451
.298 Batting Average
8 All-Star Game selections
1 MVP Award

Rickey Henderson Stats:

Stolen Bases 1,406
Runs 2,295
Walks 2,190
Hits 3,055
Times on Base 5,343
10 All-Star Game selections
1 MVP Award

Final Voting

539 Votes cast, 405 needed

Rickey Henderson 511 94.8%
Jim Rice 412 76.4%
Andre Dawson 361 67.0%
Bert Blyleven 338 62.7%
Lee Smith 240 44.5%
Jack Morris 237 44.0%
tommy John 171 31.7%
Tim Raines 122 22.6%
Mark McGwire 118 21.9%
Alan Trammell 94 17.4%
Dave Parker 81 15.0%
Don Mattingly 64 11.9%
Dale Murphy 62 11.5%
Harold Baines 32 5.9%

Off The Ballot

Mark Grace 22 4.1%
David Cone 21 3.9%
Matt Williams 7 1.3%
Mo Vaughn 6 1.1%
Jay Bell 2 0.4%
Jesse Orosco 1 0.2%
Ron Gant 0
Dan Plesac 0
Greg Vaughn 0

Until then, see ya in Cooperstown!

Save the Hall of Fame Game

the Hall of Fame Game



Selig Is Asked to Meet with SaveTheFameGame.com in Cooperstown Next Month

COOPERSTOWN, NY (June 20, 2008) — The SaveTheFameGame.com
campaign today sent a two-page letter to Major League Baseball
Commissioner Bud Selig to request a meeting while the commissioner is
in Cooperstown next month for the Hall of Fame’s Induction ceremony.
The Hall of Fame’s Induction Weekend is July 25-28.

In the letter, which was both mailed and faxed to the commissioner’s Milwaukee office, SaveTheFameGame.com
creator and Cooperstown native Kristian Connolly asks Mr. Selig for
“the opportunity to discuss with you the passion that exists for
keeping a great American and baseball tradition alive, share some of
the sentiment that is out there with regard to the choice that the
league and the players union made in deciding to end it, and have an
open discussion about options for retaining Major League Baseball’s
participation in the Hall of Fame Game, as it has been since 1940.”

Full text of the letter is copied below, and includes
a poem also sent to the commissioner that was written and sent to
SaveTheFameGame.com by baseball fan Dennis Segrue. The poem mimics
Thayer’s famous baseball poem “Casey at the Bat”, and has the Hall of
Fame Game, Cooperstown and Commissioner Selig as its topic.

Earlier this week, SaveTheFameGame.com
was in Cooperstown for 2008 Hall of Fame Game festivities, including
the Cooperstown Game Day Parade, and its efforts have helped result in
an average of nearly 100 emailed letters per day going to Commissioner
Selig, MLB president Bob Dupuy, Players Association head Don Fehr and
Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson over the past week, all asking them
to reverse the decision to end the annual Hall of Fame Game after 2008.

Books for Soldiers


Rice Belongs in Hall

2008 Hall of Fame Results

Gossage, Rich


Rice, Jim 392    72.2%
Dawson, Andre 358 65.9%
Blyleven, Bert 336 61.9%
Smith, Lee 235 43.3%
Morris, Jack 233 42.9%
John, Tommy 158 29.1%
Raines, Tim 132 24.3%
McGwire, Mark 128 23.6%
Trammell, Alan 99 18.2%
Concepcion, Dave 88 16.2%
Mattingly, Don 86 15.8%
Parker, Dave 82 15.1%
Murphy, Dale 75 13.8%
Baines, Harold 28 5.2%
Beck, Rod 2 0.4%
Fryman, Travis 2 0.4%
Nen, Robb 2 0.4%
Dunston, Shawon 1 0.2%
Finley, Chuck 1 0.2%
Justice, David 1 0.2%
Knoblauch, Chuck 1 0.2%
Stottlemyre,Todd 1 0.2%
Anderson, Brady 0 0.0%
Rijo, Jose 0 0.0%

We’ll Miss You Scooter

%d bloggers like this: