Tag Archives: Hall of Fame


Tonygwynn_3 Calripken_4


The Written Game

On January 9th, Cal Ripken, Jr., and Tony Gwynn were voted into Cooperstown and will be enshrined like many who have contributed to the game of baseball.

Especially during the baseball season, I make a point to read cover-to-cover the sports sections of the New York Times, Newsday and other periodicals on the game. Sportswriters bring Baseballpressboxthe game to another level — line-by-line, they tell us about what happened before, during and after the game. They, by all accounts, have the best seat in the house and have their own stars.

So, when Ripken and Gwynn make their Cooperstown acceptance speech, they will also be joined by the winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award. For all that want to get in to the business, this is the highest award given by the Baseball Writers Association of America to its members that have made a significant difference to the game. This award came about in 1962 and was named after J.G. Taylor Spink, who was publisher of The Sporting News from 1914 to 1962. He was also the first recipient of the award.

Though they are not members of the Hall, they are recognized in an exhibit that is displayed at the Hall. Some of the bylines you see in your local newspaper, maybe the next J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner. They bring the game to us in words, a crafted story told line-by-line.

Recipients of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award:

  • 1962J.G. Taylor Spink
  • 1963Ring Lardner
  • 1964Hugh Fullerton
  • 1965Charles Dryden
  • 1966Grantland Rice
  • 1967Damon Runyon
  • 1968Harry G. Salsinger
  • 1969Sid Mercer
  • 1970Heywood C. Broun
  • 1971Frank Graham
  • 1972Dan Daniel, Fred Lieb, and J. Roy Stockton
  • 1973Warren Brown, John Drebinger, and John F. Kieran
  • 1974John Carmichael and James Isaminger
  • 1975Tom Meany and Shirley Povich
  • 1976Harold Kaese and Red Smith
  • 1977Gordon Cobbledick and Edgar Munzel
  • 1978Tim Murnane and **** Young
  • 1979Bob Broeg and Tommy Holmes
  • 1980Joe Reichler and Milton Richman
  • 1981Allen Lewis and Bob Addie
  • 1982Si Burick
  • 1983Ken Smith
  • 1984Joe McGuff
  • 1985Earl Lawson
  • 1986Jack Lang
  • 1987Jim Murray
  • 1988Bob Hunter and Ray Kelly
  • 1989Jerome Holtzman
  • 1990Phil Collier
  • 1991Ritter Collett
  • 1992Leonard Koppett and Bus Saidt
  • 1993Wendell Smith
  • 1994 – No Award Presented
  • 1995Joe Durso
  • 1996Charley Feeney
  • 1997Sam Lacy
  • 1998Bob Stevens
  • 1999Hal Lebovitz
  • 2000Ross Newhan
  • 2001Joe Falls
  • 2002Hal McCoy
  • 2003Murray Chass
  • 2004Peter Gammons
  • 2005Tracy Ringolsby
  • 2006Rick Hummel

    Until then, see ya at the pressbox!

  • Ripken & Gwynn’s Top Ten

    10. "While traveling the country, I can shower with any team I choose"
    9. "Can now advertise my garage sales as ‘Hall of Fame garage sales’"
    8. "George Steinbrenner just offered me $20 million to play again"
    7. "On Bobblehead Day, guess who gets two bobbleheads?"
    6. "At any moment, there’s a good chance Bob Costas is boring someone with stories about me"
    5. "It’s nice to be mentioned in the same breath as Arky Vaughan, Burleigh Grimes, and Gabby Hartnett"
    4. "Free chalupa from Taco Bell if I mention them in my induction speech"
    3. "Made all those years playing in southern California’s lousy climate worth it"
    2. "I can now admit I broke my streak in 1998 because I had tickets to ‘Les Mis’"
    1. "Get to be on national television– even if it is this show"

    * Why?

    With the Hall of Fame inductees doing their press stuff this week and celebrating the great news, why must the media indulge about the whole Barry Bond’s issue?

    Why can’t we live this week in peace and enjoy the moment of Cal Ripken, Jr., and Tony Gwynn being inducted into Cooperstown?

    Why can’t we celebrate about two of the greatest getting in naturally — one an iron man, the other a pure hitter. The debate becomes that this whole steroid issue is getting old and it seems the mud is becoming thicker by the day. Now is the time to do something…now is the time to get down to what is at stake — baseball and what it stands for.

    Now is the time to put the * in front of names and let the names of Babe Ruth and Roger Maris live in peace.

    Until then, see ya at the park!

    HOF 07: Cooperstown Bound

    Calripken_2 Tonygwynn_2 

    Tuesday is the Day

    Tuesday will be the day when we find who will be enshrined in Cooperstown. Who do you think it will be? My hunch is that Cal Ripken, Jr., and Tony Gwynn are in. I also would like to see Lee Smith get in. Tuesday we will find out.

    1. Harold Baines Tonygwynn_1
    2. Albert Belle
    3. Dante Bichette
    4. Bert Blyleven
    5. Bobby Bonilla
    6. Scott Brosius
    7. Jay Buhner
    8. Ken Camniti
    9. Jose Canseco
    10. Dave Concepcion
    11. Eric Davis
    12. Andre Dawson
    13. Tony Fernandez
    14. Steve Garvey
    15. Rich Gossage
    16. Tony Gwynn
    17. Orel Hershiser
    18. Tommy John
    19. Wally Joyner
    20. Don Mattingly
    21. Mark McGwire
    22. Jack Morris
    23. Dale Murphy
    24. Paul O’Neill
    25. Dave Parker
    26. Jim Rice
    27. Cal Ripken, Jr.
    28. Bret Saberhagen
    29. Lee Smith
    30. Alan Trammell
    31. Devon White
    32. Bobby Witt

    Until then, see ya at the park!

    Enshrined in Cooperstown

    17 former Negro League baseball members have been enshrined into the Baseball Hall of Fame. One of them, Effa Manley, the first female selected, owned the Newark Bears. The two that didn’t make it are the famous Buck O’Neill and Minnie Minoso. By all accounts, they should be in the Hall.

    The others are:

    • Ray Brown, pitcher with the Homestead Grays.
    • Willard Brown, played with the Kansas City Monarchs.
    • Andy Cooper, Kansas City Monarchs & Detroit Stars.
    • Frank Grant, played second base during the 19th century.
    • Pete Hill, centerfielder with the Pittsburgh Keystones.
    • Biz Mackey, catcher.
    • Effa Manley, mentioned above.
    • Jose Mendez, pitcher.
    • Alex Pompez, owned the New York Cubans.
    • C. Posey, owned the Homestead Grays.
    • Louis Santop, catcher.
    • Mules Sutler, first base.
    • Ben Taylor, pitcher.
    • Cristobal Torriente, outfielder.
    • Sol White, author.
    • J. L. Wilkinson, owned Kansas City Monarchs.
    • Jud Wilson, played third base.
    %d bloggers like this: